Nicki Minaj “Pink Friday” Album Review


Sooooo Now that Thanksgiving is over with and Its time to get back to work; What is a better way to start off the week than with a Review of the highly anticipated album that has finally BEen released, “Pink Friday”. Many are saying, “It’s not the Nicki I fell in love with”, and others, “the CD is just whack”. I feel the complete opposite. On “Pink Friday”, Nicki gives you who she really is, what she wants to BE seen as, and respected by in the game. The album is not your common rap album, but who would expect it to be considering it’s “Nicki Minaj”. The album gives you Hip Hop (Romans Revenge), Glossy Pop(Check It Out), and a little bit of RnB(Right Thru Me). In an interview with Billboard Nicki stated:

“When I started rapping, people were trying to make me like the typical New York rapper,but I’m not that,” Minaj says. “No disrespect to New York rappers, but I don’t want people to hear me and know exactly where I’m from. I wanted the album to be universal and versatile.It really feels like it speaks for every one of my personalities.”

The album that includes features from Eminem,Rihanna, Kanye West, Drake, Will.i.am, and Natasha Bedingfield and Beats and Production from Swizz Beatz, Bangladesh, Drew Money, Oak, and West is an album that she wanted to give everyone something they could listen too and relate to and she just might of done that.

Some may not be feeling it right now because they popped it into their cd players or bought it on itunes and listened to it on their ipods expecting ROMANS REVENGE on every track not realizing that that’s what she gave them for free on her 2007 “Playtime is Over” Mixtape, 2008 “Sucka Free” Mixtape, 2009 “Beam Me Up Scotty Mixtape” and 2010 “Barbie World” Mixtape. When they get over the “ROMANS REVENGE” Nicki STAGE and really listen to the album for its lyrics, beats, and overall flow, they’ll like.Many people will hate me for saying this but it gives me a female Kanye album.

My Personal Fav Tracks: (No Specific Order)

1. Im the Best

2. Romans Revenge

3.Fly (Feat. Rihanna)

4. Save Me

5.Moment for life (Feat. Drake)

6. Blazin (Feat. Kanye)

7. Dear Old Nicki

8. Blow ya mind

AGREE? DISAGREE? Let me know…

The full track list for Pink Friday is: (Depending on where you bought the album you may or may not have the bonus tracks)

  1. I’m The Best
  2. Roman’s Revenge (featuring Eminem)
  3. Did It On ‘Em
  4. Right Thru Me
  5. Fly (featuring Rihanna)
  6. Save Me
  7. Moment 4 Life (featuring Drake)
  8. Check It Out (featuring will.i.am)
  9. Blazin (featuring Kanye West)
  10. Here I Am
  11. Dear Old Nicki
  12. Your Love
  13. Last Chance (featuring Natasha Bedingfield)
  14. Super Bass
  15. Blow Ya Mind
  16. Muny
  17. Girls Fall Like Dominoes [Bonus Track]

About the author

Dwight Holt has written 244 articles for BE Entertained Magazine

inside BE

BE Magazine Calendar

September 2016
« Aug